top of page

New Zealand Government Scholarships for Pakistani Students

Subjects offered
Level of study
When to Apply

New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarship

All New Zealand universities are in the top 3% of universities worldwide as ranked by QS World University Rankings. New Zealand government offers scholarships to students from Commonwealth countries. Since Pakistan is also a part of Commonwealth you can benefit from these scholarships if you meet certain criteria.

For Pakistan only two scholarships are offered every year- One for Masters and one for PhD and for certain subjects only. The application process is handled by the Higher Education Commission (HEC) of Pakistan.

Level of Study


You can study the following qualifications at one of eleven New Zealand universities and education institutions:

  • Postgraduate Certificate (6 months)

  • Postgraduate Diploma (1 year)

  • Master’s Degree (1-2 years)

  • PhD (up to 3.5 years)


Subjects offered


These scholarships are offered at the postgraduate level and only for certain programs. HEC does not accept applications for subjects other than the preferred subjects. A list of offered programs can be found here



When to Apply?

Check the opening and closing dates here


How to Apply?

The candidates are shortlisted by the HEC that send the nominations to the New Zealand government. For the eligibility criteria and selection process visit HEC's website.

Useful links

Higher Education Commission (HEC)

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade(MFAT)

How to Apply
Useful links
bottom of page